Thursday, January 08, 2015

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: South Africa Squad

The Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection committee announced their 15-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 beginning from February 14 in Australia and New Zealand. AB De Villiers was named captain of this squad.
According to Andrew Hudson, convener of the Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection committee, players were selected based on the performance over the past year.
Only eight players of this squad have the experience of playing previous World Cup. They are AB De Villiers, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, Wayne Parnell, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn and Imran Tahir.
Though Quinton de Kock is suffering from injury, selection committee has included him on the squad with a hope of his recovery before the tournament.

Squad: AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Rilee Rossouw, and Dale Steyn.