Tuesday, January 06, 2015

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: Indian squad

The title holder India has announced their 15-man squad in order to defend their title for the second consecutive time. Selectors did not bring any surprise inclusion in the squad picking up Yuvraj Singh and Murali Vijay.
Despite showing good form in the ongoing Test series against Australia, Murali Vijay failed to make his place in the World Cup squad. It seems that selectors did not have any interest to select any extra opener. Yuvraj Singh is doing well in the domestic cricket. Scoring three centuries back to back, he raised the possibility of his being selected in the squad.
Though Ravindra Jadeja is now injured, selectors have kept faith on him and selected him with an expectation that he will be recovered on time for India’s first match on February 15 against Pakistan. Apart from Jadeja, selectors have picked up Stuart Binny as an extra all-rounder.
In this squad, selectors have picked up four pacers in Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav and Mohammad Shami.

Indian squad for the World Cup: MS Dhoni(c/wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Stuart Binny, Umesh Yadav.