Tuesday, January 06, 2015

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: Ireland Squad

Ireland cricket team has announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 which will kick off in Australia and New Zealand. It is the same squad that was named for tri-series in Dubai against Afghanistan and Scotland.
It is going to be the third World Cup participation for five players including William Porterfield, Niall O'Brien, Kevin O'Brien, Ed Joyce, and John Mooney. Ireland is placed in Group B along with title holder India, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe, South Africa, and United Arab Emirates. On the other hand, it is going to be the first World Cup for six players of the squad. They are Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, Andrew McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Stuart Thompson, and Craig Young.
The 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup was Ireland’s first biggest tournament where they beat Pakistan and secured their place in the Super Eight stage of the tournament. In the 2011 World Cup, they defeated England by three wickets. Kevin O’Brien became the fastest centurion in World Cup history. It took him 50 balls to reach triple figure. Thanks to his 63-ball 113, Ireland could chase down a record target of 329.

Squad- William Porterfield (captain), Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Andrew McBrine, John Mooney, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young.