Thursday, June 05, 2014

BCB included Taskin Ahmed and Mohammed Mithun in Bangladesh’s ODI squad against India

Ahead of the three-match Sahara Cup ODI series against India, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Thursday announced a 15-man squad. These three matches are scheduled to play on 15, 17 and 19 June at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur.
Two uncapped players Mohammed Mithun, wicketkeeper-batsman, and Taskin Ahmed, fast bowler, have been included in this squad. The 19-year-old fast bowler, Taskin has so far played just one Twenty20 international. Now, he has been given the opportunity to show his skill in the 50 overs game in home. His inclusion has made sure that there is no place for Rubel Hossain.
Showing his consistent performance in the last couple of years both in limited overs format and longer version, Mithun has increased his opportunity to play in the international level.
Al-Amin Hossain has been included in the squad with the most experienced fast bowler of Bangladesh cricket team, Mashrafe Mortaza. Spin bowling department is consist of Abdur Razzak, Shakib Al Hasan and Shohag Gazi.
Shakib Al Hasan has performed well in the recently concluded IPL 2014. So, there will be much expectation from him. It could create pressure on him. However, seam bowling all-rounder, Ziaur Rahman, spin bowling all-rounder, Mahmud Ullah, will be quite handy for the team.
Undoubtedly Mushfiqur Rahim will lead the team.

ODI squad against India: Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Hoque Bijoy, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Hoque, Nasir Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan, Abdur Razzak, Shohag Gazi, Mahmud Ullah, Ziaur Rahman, Md. Mithun, Masrafe Bin Mortaza, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed.