Tuesday, March 06, 2012

Asia Cup 2012: Squad of Sri Lanka Cricket Team

Selectors of Sri Lankan cricket team have announced a list of 14-man squad for the upcoming Asia Cup tournament which will begin on 11 March in Bangladesh.

Sri Lankan selectors have brought some changes in the squad. They have rested three bowlers, one spinner and two fast bowlers, for the Test series against England which will start four days after the Asia Cup final. They are left-arm spinner, Rangana Herath, and fast bowlers, Dhammika Prasad and Chanaka Welegedara. However, selectors did not say anything about the exclusion of these three players.

Seekkuge Prasanna has been selected ahead of Rangana Herath. It is a big challenge for Seekkuge Prasanna to cement his place in the Sri Lankan national team. It seems that the retirement of veteran spin bowler Muttiah Muralitharan has left the team under pressure. Still, selectors haven’t found anyone who could fill up this gap.

The recent performance of Rangana Herath was not satisfactory. His poor performance was the only reason to be left out of the squad.

After getting recovery from ankle injury, fast bowler Suranga Lakmal is making his return to the squad. His last game was against Pakistan in the UAE last November. He made his return to the ongoing Premier League Tier A tournament where he claimed eight wickets in four matches.

Seekkuge Prasanna, who was dropped from the ODI series played in the UAE which Sri Lanka lost 4-1, has showed impressive performance in the Premier League Tier A claiming 41 wickets in four matches for Sri Lanka Army, with five five-wicket hauls in eight innings.

The good news for Sri Lanka is that three all-rounders- Farveez Maharoof, Angelo Mathews and Thisara Perera, who sustained injury during the tri-series, has made their return to the squad.

Mahela Jayawardene has been named captain while Angelo Mathews will be his deputy.

In their first match on 13 March, Sri Lanka will face India.

Now, it is time to see if Sri Lanka team can win the tournament.

Sri Lankan squad for Asia Cup: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Angelo Mathews (vice-capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Farveez Maharoof, Sachithra Senanayake, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Seekkuge Prasanna, Suranga Lakmal.