Wednesday, March 07, 2012

Asia Cup 2012: Indian squad

One of the hottest contestants of the Asia Cup cricket tournament, India, has already announced their 15-man squad.

Selectors have brought some changes in the list. One of the biggest changes of this list is the exclusion of Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan who have been rested.

It is heard that both Sehwag and Zaheer have been rested because of their injuries. According to Physiotherapist, they need to take rest. However, it is yet to know what kind of injury Sehwag has picked up.

The question is that who will open with Gautam Gambhir. Selectors will have to shuffle batting line up to find a pair for Gambhir.

Yusuf Pathan and Ravindra Jadeja are only two all-rounders in the squad. It is a big opportunity for both of them to make their position permanent in the Indian team.

Selectors have retained India’s most experienced batsman, Sachin Tendulkar, in the squad. The 38-year-old is one century away to fulfill his 100th international hundred. Fans all over the world are passionately waiting to celebrate his success.

Zaheer Khan is the leading bowler of Indian cricket team. His absence will leave his team under huge pressure. Now, selectors will have to depend on young bowlers who don’t have huge experience playing for India.

Pace bowling attack consisting of Praveen Kumar, Ashok Dinda, Umesh Yadav and Irfan Pathan, looks weak and not effective.

Despite having lack of consistency, both Rohit Sharma and Suresh Raina have been given the opportunity to play in this upcoming tournament.

As the tournament will be played in Bangladesh, Indian players will not find it tough to play on this condition. Thinking about the condition, Indian should want to use at least two spin bowlers. R Ashwin and Rahul Sharma have been selected for the specialist slow bowlers.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni will lead the team where Virat Kohli will be his deputy.

Indian squad for Asia Cup: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Virat Kohli (vice-capt), Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Vinay Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Praveen Kumar, Irfan Pathan, Ashok Dinda.