Monday, March 05, 2012

Bangladesh cricket selectors announces a 14-man squad for Asia Cup

Bangladesh cricket board has announced a 14-man squad for the Asia Cup. Selectors have announced the list of the players without naming captain and vice-captain.

The most important thing of this squad is that former Bangladesh captain, Mashrafe Mortaza, has made his return from injury. His inclusion will help to increase the strength of the fast bowling department.

Wicket-keeper, Mushfiqur Rahim, and all-rounder, Shakib Al Hasan, have also been included in the squad.

What can astonish people is not the inclusion of hard-hitter opening batsman Tamim Iqbal in the main squad. He has been named in the standby players list.

Some uncapped players are expected to make their debut in this forthcoming tournament.

Fans are curiously waiting to see who will be named captain for this tournament.

This year, Asia Cup will be host by Bangladesh. It will begin with the match between Bangladesh and Pakistan on 11 March. In their next games, the host team will face India on 16 March and Sri Lanka on 20 March. The final match will be played on 22 March. Sher-e-Bangla stadium will host all the matches

Bangladesh squad for Asia Cup: Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Nazimuddin, Jahurul Islam, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Elias Sunny, Nazmul Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Shahadat Hossain, Anamul Haque

Standby players: Abul Hasan, Enamul Haque, Farhad Reza, Muminal Haque, Shuvagoto Horn, Tamim Iqbal.