Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Champions League Twenty20: Some Important Information

The third edition of the Champions League Twenty20 is going to commence from 23rd September to 9th October 2011. This much-awaited cricket tournament will be held in India.

The well-known mobile phone company, Nokia, has been named the new title sponsor of the Champions League Twenty20 tournament replacing Bharti Airtel. So, in the title it will be shown the “Nokia Champions League Twenty20 2011”.

Nokia also announced the ‘Nokia Ke Asli Champions’ campaign. As per information available given on net, the winners will get an opportunity to be part of Indian actress Priyanka Chopra’s ‘Champion team’ and will watch the final match live with her.

Sundar Raman, CEO of Indian Premier League and Champions League T20, on his Twitter account confirmed about Nokia’s sign up as the title sponsor of the Champions League Twenty20.

With $40 million, Bharti Airtel bought the sponsorship for three years, but after two years they ended their three-year deal quoting low viewership.

ESPN STAR Sports has the legal right to broadcast all the matches live around the world. They supposedly paid one billion dollar for 10-year media rights for the tournament. They will telecast this tournament in more than 174 countries and it will be telecast in a record 18 international languages around the globe.

STAR Cricket and STAR Cricket HD will broadcast all the 29 matches, including qualifying matches, live in India. On the other hand, ESPN will just broadcast all 23 matches of the main tournament with Hindi commentary.

Cricket crazy fans can also enjoy live audio commentary in both English and Hindi in the online page of

Indian actor, Shahrukh Khan, has caught media attention after being unveiled as the face of the tournament by ESPN STAR Sports (ESS). He seems very much happy for this honor. However, Shahrukh Khan’s Kolkata Knight Riders is now competing in the qualifying stage. If they can end the qualifying round as one of the top three ranked team then they can play in the main tournament.

This cash-rich tournament will be played between 10 teams. Out of 10 teams, 7 teams have already been selected. They are defending champion Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians from India, New South Wales Blues and Southern Redbacks from Australia and Cape Cobras and Warriors from South Africa.

The remaining three teams will be selected through a qualifying tournament. Six teams from the Caribbean, New Zealand, India, England and Sri Lanka will be divided into two groups. Out of six teams, only top three teams, winner from each group and the third highest point holder, will be able to play in the main tournament.

This is going to be a tough challenge for defending champion Chennai Super Kings. No doubt, they will try hard to hold their trophy once again. Fans will be eagerly waiting to see if Mahendra Singh Dhoni can lead his team successfully to get the trophy consecutively. There is a question if any Indian team can keep the trophy in their own soil as India will host this prestigious event. The teams that will participate in the qualifying round are Auckland Aces, Kolkata Knight Riders, Trinidad and Tobago, Ruhuna Rhinos, Leicestershire Foxes, and Somerset.

This 15-day event will kick off with the match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Warriors on September 23, 2011 at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. It is scheduled to start at 20:00 local time.

Teams will face against each other in a round robin league. Among them, only top four teams will be able to compete in the semi-final round. Two winnings teams from semi-final round will compete in the final round for the prestigious trophy.

If you want to get full CLT20 schedule then visit the below link-

Schedule of Champions League Twenty20 cricket tournament