Friday, January 07, 2011

IPL Auction 2011: List of IPL players and Live TV channels

Multi Screen Media, Sex Max, will telecast live the players’ auction for the fourth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) from 10 am in the morning. The IPL 2011 auction will be held on January 8 and January 9 in Bangalore. IPL auction is going to be broadcast live on the television for the first time since its inauguration in 2008.

Except Sex Max TV channel, no other TV channels will show the auction live. However, cricket fans can expect to get extensive coverage from many Indian news channels like CNN-IBN, TimesNow, NDTV, AajTak etc. To get live flash updates, one can visit the news channels.

Live coverage or commentaries can be found in various websites. One can visit ESPN cricinfo (, Cricket Next ( websites for live updates.

Ten teams will bid for 350 players who have been listed in the IPL 2011 auction. These players from different countries will be bid for over two-day period.

Here, I have given the link of the list of IPL 2011 Auction players being bid in two days-

The increasing popularity of IPL will see a sharp rise from ad revenues during the auction for the fourth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) on SET Max. SET Max will sell ad slots for Rs 50,000 per 10 seconds, a premium of about five times compared to a regular day.

In the fourth edition of Indian Premier League, there will be ten teams competing against each other. Pune Warriors and Kochi are two new teams included in the IPL 2011. These two franchises are joining the players’ auction for the first time. They are aiming to get star players available in the auction and they are expected to give tough fight in the latest edition.

Many teams have retained their old players. The number of retained players is only 12 while three clubs, Kings XI Punjab, Deccan Chargers and Kolkata Knight Riders, are opting to release all their players into the auction pool. The name of retained players are given below-

Mumbai Indians: Sachin Tendulkar, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Harbhajan Singh

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay, Albie Morkel

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli

Rajasthan Royals: Shane Warne and Shane Watson

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag

Deccan Chargers (Hyderabad): None

Kolkata Knight Riders: None

Kings XI Punjab: None

Pune Warriors: - NA

Kochi: - NA

Here is given a list of players arranged based on their base price.

USD $ 4,00,000

Adam Gilchrist, Brett Lee, Shaun Marsh, James Anderson, Kevin Pietersen, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, Daniel Vettori, Brendon McCullum, Ross Taylor, Graeme Smith, AB de Villiers, Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Brian Lara, Chris Gayle, Sourav Ganguly.

USD $ 3,00,000

Zaheer Khan, Yusuf Pathan, Jacques Kallis, Muttiah Muralitharan, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews.

USD $ 2,00,000

Gautam Gambhir, Michael Hussey, Doug Bollinger, Dirk Nannes, Eoin Morgan, Robin Uthappa, Sanath Jayasuriya.

USD $ 1,00,000

Tamim Iqbal, R Ashwin, Morne Morkel, Ben Hilfenhaus

The fourth edition of Indian Premier League will start from April 8, 2011.