Sunday, February 01, 2015

Novak Djokovic wins his fifth Australian Open title

The world No. 1, Novak Djokovic, has claimed his fifth Australian Open title beating Andy Murray 7-6 (5), 6-7 (4), 6-3, 6-0 in the final match at Melbourne Park on Sunday. It was his eighth career grand slam title. Winning this match, he has maintained his record of never losing past the quarterfinals in Melbourne.
It was the fourth time that sixth-seeded, Andy Murray, lost in the Australian Open final. Previously the British tennis player lost to Djokovic twice in 2011 and 2013 and to Roger Federer in 2010.

Novak Djokovic has become the second player to have won the Australian Open title for five times after Roy Emerson, who bagged this title six times. This legendary player was present at the stadium.