Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Cristiano Ronaldo wins Ballon d'Or for the second consecutive time

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the 2014 Ballon d'Or for the second successive year beating Lionel Messi and Manuel Neuer at a FIFA ceremony held in Zurich, Switzerland. It was the third time in his career that the 29-year-old Real Madrid star was voted the best player in the world. He is one behind Lionel Messi’s four Ballon d'Or titles.

Kessler succeeds her compatriot Nadine Angerer, who became the first goalkeeper to win the award 12 months ago. Colombia’s James Rodriguez won the FIFA Puskas Award for the best goal of 2014 for his sensational goal against Uruguay in the 2014 World Cup.