Thursday, July 24, 2014

BCB announces a 15-man ODI squad against the West Indies

Ahead of the three-match ODI series taking place next month in the Caribbean, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 15-man squad on Thursday.
There was no surprise inclusion in this squad. Opening batsman Imrul Kayes was recalled to the squad as a replacement of all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who is banned for six months after threatening to quit international cricket.
Shakib Al Hasan, nation’s leading wicket-taker in Test history, appealed to the board against his ban, but he was said by the BCB officials that his request would only be considered after the West Indies tour.
Undoubtedly there will be no replacement for Shakib Al Hasan. He can play both as batsman and bowler. As Bangladesh cricket team does not have shortage of spinner, they have decided to choose a batsman in his place.
The first two ODIs between Bangladesh and West Indies will be played at Grenada on August 20 and 22 and the third ODI will be played at St. Kitts on August 25. After the ODI series, these two teams will also play a Twenty20 International and two Test matches.
Bangladesh cricket team will leave for the Caribbean on August 13.

Bangladesh ODI squad against the West Indies: Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain & wicket keeper), Anamul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Imrul Kayes, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Abdur Razzak, Sohag Gazi, Mashrafe Mortaza, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, and Al-Amin Hossain.