Wednesday, April 16, 2014

AIFF has unveiled the name of owners and locations of the Indian Super League (ISL)

Name of the owners and eight franchisees of the inaugural Indian Super League (ISL) have been announced by the All Indian Football Federation (AIFF).
According to the confirmation from IMG Reliance and Star India, the promoters of the ISL, the franchises are based in Delhi, Bangalore, Goa, Guwahati, Kochi, Kolkata, Mumbai and Pune.
Name of the stakeholders has also been unveiled. Former Indian cricket captains Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly, and Bollywood stars John Abraham, Salman Khan and Ranbir Kapoor are among the luckiest bidders.
Sachin Tendulkar along with the business group PVP ventures has bagged the franchise for Kochi while Sourav Ganguly has made a consortium in association with Harshavardhan Neotia, Sanjeev Goenka, Utsav Parekh and Spanish La Liga soccer club Atletico Madrid to become the owner of Kolkata team.
Indian film stars Salman Khan, Ranbir Kapoor and John Abraham have bought Pune, Mumbai and Guwahati respectively. Bangalore and Delhi are solely owned by Sun Group and Den Network.
It is said that each of the eight teams will have a top player. Former Manchester United star Dwight Yorke, former Arsenal and French star Thierry Henry, former Argentina striker Hernan Crespo and former Swedish star Fredrik Ljungberg are the probable ageing talents being targeted for the league.
The base price for each team was kept at Rs 12 crore and Kolkata became the highest bidding team after being sold at Rs 18 crore. The inaugural season is scheduled to be held between September and November this year.