Wednesday, May 01, 2013

Australia declares 15-member squad for ICC Champions Trophy

Australian selectors have announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy that will take place in England next month. There is no uncapped player in the squad. Players who played in the last ODI series against West Indies were selected in the squad.
Selectors have included all-rounder Mitchell Marsh in the squad. James Faulkner also has made his place in the squad by showing his impressive performance in the ODI series against West Indies in February this year. Even Tasmanian player has showed his good form in the on going Indian Premier League (IPL) by claiming five wickets so far.
Four pace bowlers- Clint McKay, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Starc and Mitchell Johnson, have been included in the squad. George Bailey has been named as the vice-captain.
Australia will start their campaign against the host nation England on June 8. The performance of the players will be observed strictly because Australia is scheduled to play the Ashes series after the ICC Champions Trophy.