Wednesday, January 02, 2013

Rangpur Riders is the seventh team in BPL

Rangpur Riders has been included as the seventh team in the second edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). I Sports Limited has bought the rights of the new franchise for Tk 8.5 crores (1.01 millon dollars). It has been sold by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). This auction was conducted by the event management company Game On Sports at the Dhaka Club on December 15.
Along with I Sports Limited, two other buyers, ASN Sports and Haque Brothers, took part in the auction. However, ASN Sports was disqualified while Haque Brothers lost to I Sports Limited in the bidding.
This year cricket fans will see seven teams competing against each other in the league. Six other teams that took part in the inaugural season of the BPL are Barisal Burners, Chittagong Kings, Dhaka Gladiators, Duranta Rajshahi, Khulna Royals Bengals and Sylhet Royals.
Opening ceremony of the BPL 2013 is scheduled to be held on January 17. Though fixtures of the tournament are not fixed yet, the matches are scheduled to be played in three venues- Dhaka, Chittagong and Khulna.
BPL has made a notable change in its rules and regulations and according to new rules and regulations, no BCB employee will be allowed to be a part of any of the participating teams.
To avoid non-payment issues created in the previous edition of the league, the franchises have signed written agreements with the BCB by December 20.