Saturday, January 05, 2013

Pakistani cricketers may not play in the BPL 2013

The participation of the Pakistani cricketers in the second edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is facing uncertainty. It is thought that they may not get permission from the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to play in this tournament.
The decision of barring Pakistani cricketers from playing the BPL 2013 has come after the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) had cancelled the Pakistan tour. PCB said Pakistani players could be barred from participating in BPL.
There is obviously a big reason for postponing the Pakistan tour. The BCB members had expressed their concern over security situation in Pakistan. They insisted that conditions had not improved. This decision put Pakistan’s home series against Bangladesh on hold.
Since 2009 after terrorists attacked on Sri Lanka cricket team’s bus, no cricket playing nation toured Pakistan. That is why, they organized their home series in neutral venue which ranged from Dubai to London.  
However, PCB is yet to give No Objection Certificate (NOCs) to players and until getting any clearance from cricket board players cannot play in the T20 league.
Pakistani players who were bought at the player auction of the second edition of the BPL on December 20 are Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul, Imran Nazir, Kamran Akmal, Umar Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Sami.