Tuesday, November 06, 2012

Bangladesh’s preliminary Test squad against West Indies

Ahead of the first Test match against West Indies which is scheduled to kick off on November 13, Bangladesh national cricket team selectors have called up fast bowler, Rubel Hossain, in the preliminary squad.
He has made his return to the international cricket after a long absence. He was suffering from a shoulder injury and went under surgery in South Africa earlier this year. He sustained his shoulder injury during the first Test against Pakistan in Chittagong last year and since then he could not play any competitive cricket until making an appearance in this season’s National Cricket League where he captured three wickets in two matches.
Junaid Siddique, Enamul Haque jnr and Jahurul Islam are other players who have made their return to the squad. They have been recalled due to their performance in the first-class competition. Both Junaid and Enamul have been named for Bangladesh A.
This list also includes some uncapped players and they are Anamul Haque, Mominul Haque, Taskin Ahmed, Sohag Gazi and Al-Amin.
Bangladesh’s most experienced batsman, Mohammad Ashraful, has failed to make his place in the squad due to his poor form. The left-arm spinner, Abdur Razzak, has also been left out of the squad as he is considered only for ODI cricket.
However, the preliminary squad will be cut short into 14-member on November 10 at the end of a three-day warm-up game that will be played between BCB XI and West Indies at Savar from November 8.
The BCB XI will be lead by Mushfiqur Rahim. Other players of this list are Shahriar Nafees, Junaid, Jahurul, Mahmudullah, Nazimuddin, Enamul and Shafiul Islam.
Preliminary Squad for first Test: Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Junaid Siddique, Shahriar Nafees, Jahurul Islam, Naeem Islam, Nazimuddin, Elias Sunny, Enamul Haque jnr, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Nazmul Hossain, Shahadat Hossain, Anamul Haque, Mominul Haque, Taskin Ahmed, Sohag Gazi, Abul Hasan, Al Amin
BCB XI squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (Capt & wk), Junaid Siddique, Shahriar Nafees, Anamul Haque, Nazimuddin, Mahmudullah, Taskin Ahmed, Enamul Haque jnr, Shafiul Islam, Jahurul Islam, Al Amin, Mominul Haque.