Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Indian Squad for T20 World Cup Cricket 2012

Indian is one of the most favorite cricket teams to have claiming the Twenty20 World Cup 2012 trophy starting in Sri Lanka on September 18. The South Asian cricket power is also determined to regain their trophy in the fourth edition of the T20 cricket tournament. Keeping in mind about the upcoming Twenty20 World Cup, Indian selectors have declared the list of 15 players. This squad is the combination of young and experienced players.
Indian cricket teams will be happy to see the inclusion of hard hitter middle order batsman Yuvraj Singh. Yuvraj Singh, who was announced Man of the tournament of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, has made his return to the international cricket with the second T20 match against New Zealand at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium on 11 September 2012. Though India lost the match by 1 run, Yuvraj Singh played very well. He bowling just two overs gave 14 runs and with the bat, he scored 26-ball 34.
It was his first international match in ten months. His performance in the T20 match proves that he is totally fit and his fans once again will see his aggressive playing style. It will inspire other team members to do well in the tournament.
Out of 15 players only Gautam Gambhir, MS Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan were part of the Indian squad that won the maiden T20 World Cup held in  Johannesburg in 2007.
Fans should be surprised to see the inclusion of Rohit Sharma and Harbhajan Singh. These two players are out of their form. Despite their poor form in both domestic and international circuit, they have been given another chance thinking that their experience will help the team.
Selectors could have selected young players like Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma in the place of Rohit Sharma.
Spin is the main strength of the Indian cricket team. They have included two more spinners alongside Harbhajan Singh. Other two spinners are Ravichandran Ashwin and Piyush Chawla. Fans should agree with me that the inclusion of Ravichandran Ashwin was the right decision. The right-arm off-spin bowler is in good form. He is continuously playing well. His performance in the recently concluded home series was excellent. There is no doubt that Piyush Chawla’s selection should raise question to the cricket lovers. It is thought that he has been added to bring some variety in the bowling line-up.
India’s pace bowling line-up looks much stronger with the inclusion of Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan, and Lakshmipathy Balaji. He is now happy to be selected in the main squad. He last played for India against New Zealand in the second T20 match on September 11.
Batting is always India’s main strength. They have batsmen like Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, and Manoj Tiwary. MS Dhoni is the captain of India’s T20 cricket team while Gambhir is announced as his deputy. It is going to be a big challenge for Dhoni. He is now eyeing for third ICC World Cup trophy under his captaincy.
Overall Indian cricket team looks much balanced and strong. There is no doubt that opponents will have to face tough challenge against them.
Indian squad for T20 World Cup 2012: MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Harbhajan Singh, Piyush Chawla, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashok Dinda, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan, Yuvraj Singh.