Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Sri Lanka Premier League starts from August 10

The Sri Lanka Premier League (SLPL) is now the most talk of the topic in the cricket world. At last Sri Lankan cricket board is going to start its own Twenty20-based cricket tournament this year. It is scheduled to start from August 10-31.
It will host 24 matches and all the matches will be played in Colombo and Pallekele. Foreign players will play alongside Sri Lankan star players like Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Lasith Malinga for seven provincial franchise teams.
What can make the readers more astonished is the way of distributing players among the seven teams. There was no players’ auction like the IPL. Players who contracted to the SLPL were divided among the teams by a draft system that was held behind closed doors in Colombo on Thursday.
The cricket board has refused to declare the name of the owners of the seven franchises. According to several media reports, it has been come to know that unanimous Indian companies have become the owner of the franchises after organizers did not get good response from local firms.