Sunday, May 27, 2012

PCB announces the list of central contracts for 2012

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has at last revealed the list of central contracts on Saturday. According to the list, the players have been divided into three different categories- A, B and C. Not only that but also PCB has increased the percentage of salary by and match fees of the players.
Players’ salary has been increased by 25% while match fees sees 10% hike for the calendar year 2012. This central contract which was delayed by almost six months has surprised the players and followers.
The middle-order batsman, Umar Akmal, has been enlisted in category A. In the previous year, he was in category B. Other players who have been included in this category are Test captain Misbah-ul-Haq, Twenty20 skipper Mohammad Hafeez, former captains Younis Khan and Shahid Afridi and spinners Saeed Ajmal and Abdur Rehman.
Another former skipper Shoaib Malik also made his comeback in the list. He has been awarded category B along with batsmen Taufeeq Umar, Azhar Ali and Asad Shafiq and fast bowlers Junaid Khan and Aizaz Cheema.
Category C includes Sarfraz Ahmad, Adnan Akmal, Hammad Azam, Wahab Riaz, Imran Farhat, Faisal Iqbal and Nasir Jamshed.
It is seen that 21 players in three different categories have been given full-fledge contracts. Based on their category they will get respectively $3400, $2,400 and 1,400 a month.
However, according to PCB chairman, Zaka Ashraf, besides these twenty-one players, other 21 players will get stipend of $680 a month after impressive performances in domestic cricket.
Players who have been named for stipend are Sohail Tanvir, Khalid Latif, Sharjeel Khan, Shakeel Ansar, Haris Sohail, Raza Hasan, Ahmed Shahzad, Usman Salahuddin, Mohammad Ayub Dogar, Imran Khan, Bilawal Bhatti, Awais Zia, Shahzeb Hasan, Mohammad Khalil, Anwar Ali, Afaq Rahim, Bismillah Khan, Babar Azam, Sami Aslam, Zia-ul-Haq and Usman Qadir.
The most surprising thing is that fast bowler, Mohammad Sami, was not included in any category and not even in the stipend players’ list.