Saturday, February 11, 2012

Mahela Jayawardene replaces Thilakaratne Dilshan as the captain of Sri Lanka Cricket

Mahela Jayawardene has replaced Thilakaratne Dilshan as the captain of the Sri Lanka team. He has been given captaincy once again after almost two years. Because of Thilakaratne Dilshan’s failure to lead his team towards victory in Test and ODI series against England, Australia, Pakistan and South Africa, he was sacked from his post.

There is no doubt that Sri Lanka cricket team is passing a very bad time. They lost their position as one of the top-four Test playing nation.

However, Mahela Jayawardene on Thursday said that he had taken up the Sri Lanka captaincy for a short term. According to a report in Colombo, he will lead Sri Lanka for one year.

He was the captain of Sri Lanka from 2006 to 2009 before being replaced by Kumar Sangakkara.

After Sri Lanka lost to India in the final match of the World Cup 2011, both of Sangakkara and Jayawardene resigned from their post. After their resignation, Sri Lanka cricket selectors appointed Thilakaratne Dilshan as captain.

There was a rumor that internal politics between players had affected the team morale. It is thought to be the main reason behind Sri Lanka’s defeat. However, Jayawardene dismissed the rumor.

Geoff Marsh has also been sacked as the head coach. He was replaced by Graham Ford.