Saturday, October 01, 2011

India vs England ODI series 2011: Indian squad

The Indian selectors headed by Krishnamachari Srikkanth announced a 15-man squad for the first two ODIs of the five-match ODI series against England. India’s home series will start from October 14, 2011.

This squad is the combination of young and experienced players. Most of the players of this squad are young but talented. However, because of the absence of senior players it is like a second-string Indian team.

Injury has become a big problem for the home team. Because of this problem, Indian selectors have been forced to field a depleted squad against the visiting team. There will be the missing of seven key players- Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Munaf Patel and Rohit Sharma. Another big name, who has been ruled out of the ties, is Harbhajan Singh.

Cricket fans will be happy to see the inclusion of opener, Gautam Gambhir, who returned to India after sustaining an injury when his head hit on the ground while trying to take a catch of Kevin Pietersen on the third day of the fourth and final Test at the Oval. He is now completely fit and is currently leading Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the Champions League T20.

This home series is going to be a big platform for new comers. Among them, we may find some future cricket star. The uncapped players are- Varun Aaron, Rahul Sharma and Sreenath Aravind.

It is the best opportunity for the home team to take revenge for their terrible tour of England where they failed to get any victory in Test, ODI and also lost the single Twenty20 International. They lost the four-match Test series 0-4 and the ODI series 0-3.

It is also the best opportunity for the England cricket team to get victory in Indian soil as many senior players have not been included in the squad due to injury.

Let’s see if the young-studded Indian cricket team can beat the England team.

Indian squad for the first two ODIs: MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Parthiv Patel, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Manoj Tiwary, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Sreenath Aravind.