Friday, July 03, 2015

BCB announces a 14-man T20 squad against South Africa

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Wednesday announced a 14-man squad for the two-match T20 series against South Africa. The most noticeable inclusion of this squad is Sohag Gazi.
The right-arm off-spinner, Sohag Gazi, was suspended from bowling on 8 October last year during Bangladesh’s tour of West Indies because of his illegal bowling action. However, he has been cleared and allowed to play domestic ODI competitions by the International Cricket Council (ICC) after correcting his bowling action. He tested his remodelled bowling action in Chennai earlier this year.
Gazi has been recalled in the squad as a replacement for Mahmudullah Riyad who is yet to recover from finger injury. Due to his injury, he could not play against India in the recently concluded series.
The injury of Taskin Ahmed has come as a big blow for the team. The young speed star sustained a rib injury during training session last week. He will be out of the game for three weeks. He has been replaced by young leg-spinner Jubair Hossain who is waiting to make his debut in the shortest format of the game.
Mustafizur Rahman, who caught media attention showing his superb performance against India in the recently concluded ODI series, has also got a place in the squad.

Bangladesh T20 squad against South Africa: Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Tamim lqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Litton Das (wk), Mushfiqur Rahim, Rony Talukdar, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Arafat Sunny, Jubair Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Rubel Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman.