Thursday, May 02, 2013

South Africa declares 15-member squad without Jacques Kallis

South Africa has announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy 2013 that will take place in England.
This time, South Africa will have to play without their in-form all-rounder, Jacques Kallis, who made himself unavailable due to personal reasons. It was a surprise decision taken by Kallis.
Since making his ODI debut in 1996, the 37-year-old has been the regular member of the Proteas in all forms of the game for nearly two decades. In his long career, he has scored 15,756 runs in 321 ODI matches and taken 270 wickets. He is the fifth highest run scorer in ODI history. Because of his performance, he was named as one of Wisden's cricketers of the year.
In order to ensure his fitness for Tests, he has not been playing in bilateral one-day series. He has expressed his desire to be a part of the South African squad at the 2015 World Cup. Now, he is currently playing in the Indian Premier League (IPL).
It is sure that his absence will affect the team’s performance. His experience would help his team to do well against the opponent teams in the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy. Now, selectors will have to find an alternative to fill up his place. In that case, David Miller could be the best option for his replacement.
Batting all-rounders JP Duminy and Faf du Plessis have made their return after suffering from injury. After sustaining an ankle and Achilles injuries against Australia, Duminy has been out for six months. Their inclusion in the squad will strengthen the team. AB de Villiers will continue as captain and wicketkeeper.
Matches of the second biggest tournament will be played at the Oval, Cardiff and Edgbaston, which is the venue for the final on 23 June.
The opening match will be played between South Africa and India in Cardiff on June 6.
South Africa squad for ICC Champions Trophy:  AB de Villiers (capt & wk), Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Rory Klleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.