Friday, November 16, 2012

PCB denies Umar Akmal, Saeed Ajmal and Shahid Afridi permission for BBL

It is not sure if the Pakistani trio- Umar Akmal, Saeed Ajmal and Shahid Afridi, will get permission from the PCB to play this season’s Big Bash League (BBL). Though they were earlier given No Objection Certificates to play in the BBL, the PCB has denied the permission just to ensure their participation in the domestic Twenty20 tournament ahead of the tour of India.
Umar Akmal and Saeed Ajmal had signed with Sydney Sixers and Adelaide Strikers respectively earlier this month to play this season’s BBL. On the other hand, Shahid Afridi had moved from Melbourne Renegades to Sydney Thunder during the transfer window in July.
Big Bash League (BBL) is scheduled to begin on December 7. However, PCB’s national T20 championship will kick off on December 2 and it will continue till December 10. After the end of domestic T20 tournament, there will be a week-long conditioning camp before the team leaves for India on December 22.