Monday, May 14, 2012

Sri Lanka named a 30-man preliminary squad against Pakistan and India

The Sri Lanka cricket team selectors have announced a provisional 30-man squad for the upcoming home series against Pakistan and India that will start from next month.
Spinner Ajantha Mendis and fast bowler Dilhara Fernando have been included in the preliminary squad. The surprising thing is that selectors didn’t pick any uncapped player in the squad. It seems that they are not interested in making any kind of experiment.
There is no doubt that the inclusion of both Ajantha Mendis and Dilhara Fernando will help to increase the strength of the national team. They have recovered from injury. Mendis hurt his back and since January he hasn’t played any international match. They last played for Sri Lanka during the tour of South Africa last year.
Nuwan Pradeep is another player who made his return from injury. He picked a hamstring injury during the tour match against the South African Invitation XI in Benoni and had to return home. Since then he has just played one first-class match for Bloomfield Cricket and Athletic Club, picking up four wickets.
Leg spinner, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, is another notable inclusion in the squad. He last played for Sri Lanka in 2007.
The series between Sri Lanka and Pakistan will start from June 1. Both teams will play two T20 international matches, five ODIs and 3 Test matches.
Sri Lanka provisional squad: Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Tharanga Paranavitana, Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Thilan Samaraweera, Prasanna Jayawardene, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews, Farveez Maharoof, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chanaka Welegedera, Suranga Lakmal, Dhammika Prasad, Shaminda Eranga, Nuwan Pradeep, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Sachitra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Kaushal Lokuarachchi.