Sunday, April 01, 2012

Selectors bring two changes in Sri Lanka squad for second Test against England

Sri Lanka selectors have announced a list of 14-man squad ahead of the second Test match against England that will be played on April 3 at Colombo.

The selectors have brought two changes in the squad. All-rounder, Angelo Mathews, have been selected in the squad in the place of Chamara Silva while fast-bowler, Shaminda Eranga, has replaced Chanaka Welegedara, who is out of the squad due to injury.

Angelo Mathews last played for his country in the league phase of the Commonwealth Bank series, but due to his calf injury he could not play in the finals of the tri-nation series and Asia Cup. However, his performance with both the bat and ball during the CB series forced the selectors to include him in the team as soon as he recovered from his injury.

The 24-year-old player has replaced Chamara Silva, who was chosen in his place for the first Test match after the all-rounder failed to prove his fitness. However, he has been selected as a batsman and will not be able to bowl in the match.

Chief selector, Ashantha de Mel, said, “Mathews has been declared fit and we have brought him in but he will not bowl.”

Shaminda Eranga is one of the notable changes in the squad. He made his debut against Australia in last September and made it memorable taking four wickets, including the wicket of Shane Watson which he claimed on his first ball. The match against England is going to be his second Test match.

Though Eranga has been included in the squad, it is not sure if he will be named for playing in the second and final Test. His chances of playing are facing uncertainty because of chief selector’s hope of including Dhammika Prasad with Suranga Lakmal in final eleven.

The home side is leading the two-match Test series 1-0 after defeating England in the first Test match by 75 runs. Now, they are looking for series victory. Captain Mahela Jayawardene and spinner Rangana Herath played the vital role behind the victory.

Sri Lanka squad: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Thilan Samaraweera, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Prasanna Jayawardene, Shaminda Eranga, Suraj Randiv, Suranga Lakmal, Rangana Herath, Dhammika Prasad, Tharanga Paranavitana.