Monday, January 16, 2012

Sachin Tendulkar has been selected in ODI squad

Indian cricket selectors have already announced a 17-man squad ahead of the tri-series that will be played in Australia. Apart from the host team Australia and India, it also features Sri Lanka. It is scheduled to start from February 5 to 28.

The biggest inclusion of this squad is Sachin Tendulkar who is going to play his first ODI match since the World Cup. So, he will have to stay in Australia after the end of the Test series.

Indian medium-pacer Praveen Kumar has been fully recovered from injury and made his way into the squad. Due to his rib injury, he was left out of the Test series.

Irfan Pathan is the surprising inclusion of the squad. He has not been regular in the Indian cricket team for many years. He last played ODI match in December last year. Other two fast bowlers, who have been included in the squad, are Umesh Yadav and R Vinay Kumar.

Rahul Sharma, who made his international debut against the West Indies, makes up the spin attack along with R Ashwin. Manoj Tiwary has retained his place in the squad after scoring his maiden ODI century in the fifth ODI against West Indies. Because of his inclusion, Ajinkya Rahane has lost his place.

Yuvraj Singh is yet to fully recover from the non-malignant lung tumour. MS Dhoni will lead this team.

Indian squad for tri-series: MS Dhoni (capt & wk), Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Manoj Tiwary, Parthiv Patel (wk), Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav, Irfan Pathan, R Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar, Rahul Sharma, R Ashwin, Rohit Sharma.