Wednesday, November 02, 2011

West Indies Test squad against India

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has announced a 15-man Test squad for their tour of India. Thinking about the condition of Indian venues, selectors have brought some changes in this squad.

Adrian Barath has been selected in the squad in the place of Lendl Simmons. He has made his return after recovering from a hamstring injury.

Lendl Simmons did not find a place for him and he will be sent home. He got recall for the Tests in Bangladesh as a replacement of injured Barath.

Though Simmons was not in good form, selectors picked him in the Test squad after he scored a century and a half-century in the first and second ODIs in Bangladesh. Except him, there are no other changes in the squad.

Young opener, Kraigg Brathwaite, and Kieran Powell both have been included in the squad against India. Both of these players have scored half-centuries in the first innings of the second Test played in Mirpur Test.

Denesh Ramdin has been taken as an optional wicketkeeper while Carlton Baugh will continue his duty behind the wicket. Spin attack consists of with Shane Shillingford and Devendra Bishoo. Skipper Darren Sammy can play as a third spinner.

The three-match Test series between India and West Indies will start on November 6 in Delhi. After the end of Test series, both teams will play 5 ODIs.

West Indies’ Test Squad against India: Darren Sammy (captain), Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh (wk), Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Kirk Edwards, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Ravi Rampaul, Fidel Edwards, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Devendra Bishoo, Shane Shillingford.