Monday, January 10, 2011

Kolkata Knight Riders: List of players for IPL 2011

The two-day IPL 2011 players’ auction, which started on 8 January 2011, ended one day ago. In these two days, ten IPL franchises were seen fighting against each other to rope in star players for the fourth edition of the Indian Premier League. Each of the IPL clubs have already organized their squads bagging star players.

Shah Rukh Khan owned Kolkata Knight Riders looks much stronger and balanced one than other IPL franchises. Other two onwers are Juhi Chawla Mehta and her husband Jay Mehta. They are expecting that their club will win the title in the fourth edition of IPL.

KKR owners have arranged their clubs with a bunch of fresh players. This time, they didn’t retain any old players in the squad. They have spent huge amount of money to get best quality players.

However, Shah Rukh Khan’s decision of not keeping Sourav Ganguly in the KKR team disappointed the Kolkatan supporters. Even’s dada’s supporters burnt SRK’s effigies in different cities. Sourav Ganguly remained unsold in the IPL 2011 auctions. No one clubs were interested to bid for him.

It is very tragic to see him not finding any takers. He was the fourth highest run scorer in the previous edition and highest run scorer for KKR team.

Sourav Ganguly’s base price in the bidding list was $200,000, but later he asked Shah Rukh Khan to hike his price to $400,000. It is heard that Deccan Chargers were interested to buy him before he hiked his price.

Coached by Dav Whatmore, KKR team didn’t perform that well in the last three editions. Even, they could not move into the semi-final round ever. Now, they are aiming to win the title in the fourth edition.

The theme song of the KKR team is Korbo, Lorbo, Jeetbo Re (Bengali for We will do it, Fight for it, Win it) and the official colors are purble and gold.

The list of players in the Kolkata Knight Riders team are given below along with their bought price-

Gautam Gambhir – 2.4 Million USD (11.04 Crore INR)

Yusuf Pathan – 2.1 Million USD (9.66 Crore INR)

Jacques Kallis – 1.1 Million USD (4.96 Crore INR)

Manoj Tiwary – 0.475 Million USD (2.14 Crore INR)

Shakib al Hasan – 0.475 Million USD (1.92 Crore INR)

Brett Lee – 0.4 Million USD (1.81 Crore INR)

Eoin Morgan – 0.35 Million USD (1.58 Crore INR)

Brad Haddin – 0.325 Million USD (1.46 Crore INR)

Jaidev Unadkat – 0.25 Million USD (1.13 Crore INR)

Ryan ten Doeschate – 0.15 Million USD

James Pattinson – 0.1 Million USD

L Balaji – 500000 USD

One can visit the official website of KKR team for more information. The official website address is-

IPL 2011 will stars from 8th April. This time, ten clubs will compete against each other.