Friday, December 24, 2010

Venue of India vs South Africa 2nd Test match 2010

The second test match between India and South Africa will kick off from 26th December 2010 at the Kingsmead, Durban. It is scheduled to be held at 08:30 GMT (10:00 local time) and 13:30 Indian Standard Time. After losing the first test match by an innings and 25 runs, touring team is heading to the second test match to level the series. However, South Africa took the control of the three-match test series 1-0.

The world number one test cricket team has never won a test series in South Africa. They have won just one test. The current Indian squad are said to be the stronger side and they have best chance to beat South Africa. India is in buoyant form after getting two comprehensive series wins over Australia and New Zealand on Indian soil. So, it has become a big challenge for them to continue the success in the oldest format of cricket game.

However, Indian cricket team has once again proved that they are always weaker opponent in South Africa. Their poor performance in the first test match disappointed the fans around the world. Experienced batsmen have showed that they are helpless in bouncy tracks and not able to deal with short pitched deliveries.

India’s poor performance has raised a question of whether India can beat the South Africa in their backyard. It is not easy to answer the question. It depends on the performance of Indian batsmen. Not only batsmen but also bowlers were responsible for the defeat.

Kingsmead cricket ground will host the second test match between India and South Africa. It is also known as Sahara Stadium. It has 25000 sitting capacity. It is the home ground of KwaZulu-Natal Dolphins.

In 1923, it hosted the first test match between South Africa and England which ended in a draw. It is well known for bowling friendly pitch especially for seamers. As it is quite close to the beach, it will be watching to see how the tide affects batting conditions.

Let us see if India can make their comeback in the ongoing test series.